Thoughtful reviews, the Boulder film scene

Straight To Hell Returns

Post-Repo Man cult favorite returns with improved special effects —John Adams (review...)

Alex Cox returns... Straight to Hell

" You did it without thinking, whcih leads me to believe you could have a career in marketing. "
— Danny DeVito, The Big Kahuna

MRQE Top Critic

Sponsored links

The Online Film Critics Society, of which Movie Habit writer Marty Mapes is a member, has announced their awards for 2006.

Mickey Rourke shows a healthy respect for women
Mickey Rourke shows a healthy respect for women

The big winner was A History of Violence, directed by David Cronenberg, who also won best directing honors. Maria Bello won supporting actress.

Sin City also took three awards: editing, cinematography, and supporting actor (Mickey Rourke).

Newcomers Owen Kline, who played Frank in The Squid and the Whale, and Paul Haggis, who directed Crash, won the best breakthrough performance and filmmaker, respectively.

The entire list of winners is below:

  • Best Picture: “A History of Violence”
  • Best Director: David Cronenberg, “A History of Violence”
  • Best Actor: Philip Seymour Hoffman, “Capote”
  • Best Actress: Reese Witherspoon, “Walk the Line”
  • Best Supporting Actor: Mickey Rourke, “Sin City”
  • Best Supporting Actress: Maria Bello, “A History of Violence”
  • Best Original Screenplay: “Good Night and Good Luck,” George Clooney and Grant Heslov
  • Best Adapted Screenplay: “Brokeback Mountain,” Larry McMurty and Diana Ossana, based on L. Annie Proulx’ short story
  • Best Cinematography: “Sin City,” Robert Rodriguez
  • Best Editing: “Sin City,” Robert Rodriguez
  • Best Score: “Brokeback Mountain,” Gustavo Santaolalla
  • Best Documentary: “Grizzly Man”
  • Best Foreign-Language Film: “Downfall” (Germany)
  • Best Animated Feature: “Wallace and Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit”
  • Breakthrough Filmmaker: Paul Haggis, “Crash”
  • Breakthrough Performance: Owen Kline, “The Squid and the Whale”